Yes. This.: “Today, I Am Not a Writer”

Sometimes, I don’t feel right calling myself a writer. I spend hours staring at my computer screen, watching television, flipping through various tabs, fucking around on Twitter, stretching my legs, getting a bottle of water, staring into the refrigerator, messing with my hair, refreshing my e-mail, staring at my phone wondering if it will ring. I daydream. I think about reading. I think about writing. I daydream. I watch more television. I mess around online more. Deadlines come and go. I start a new Word document. I accept new writing assignments even though I have too many I can’t fulfill. Book projects loom. I waste time. I waste time. I waste time.

– Roxane Gay

http://roxanegay.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

